Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees Sangamon County Water Reclamation District Held June 27, 2023 In the Board Room of the Spring Creek Plant 3000 North 8th Street Springfield, Illinois

The Board of Trustees of the Sangamon County Water Reclamation District met at the Spring Creek Treatment Plant of the Sangamon County Water Reclamation District, Springfield, Illinois at 9:00 a.m. on June 27, 2023. President Richard Ciotti called the meeting to order. The roll was called, and the following Trustees were present: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, and John Hearn. Trustee Drinda OConnor was excused, and Trustee Jim Reinhart was attending by phone. Also present were Gregg S. Humphrey, Executive Director, Jason Jacobs, District Engineer, Ed Vehovic, Treasurer, Bruce Stratton. John Higginbotham, Assistant District Engineer, Justin Reichert District Attorney and Human Resource Officer and Joe Roesch, District Attorney were excused. Guests present were Christy Crites of CMT and Collins Pieper.

Trustee Terry Schierholz moved to allow Trustee Jim Reinhart by phone. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee John Hearn and upon being put to a vote was unanimously approved. Those voting "aye" when their names were called being: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, and John Hearn. Those voting "no" being: none.

2. Old Business - None

3. Omnibus Motion

The Director presented the Board with an Omnibus Motion for approval of the following items:

May Minutes June Invoices

Trustee Terry Schierholz moved the Omnibus Motion be approved. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee John Hearn and upon being put to a vote was unanimously approved. Those voting "aye" when their names were called being: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, Jim Reinhart, and John Hearn. Those voting "no" being: none.

a. Decennial Committee of Local Government Efficiency

The first meeting of the District's Decennial Committee of Local Government Efficiency. Separate minutes will be prepared and shall become a part of these minutes.

b. Ordinance No. 2023-10 Adoption of an ordinance authorizing and providing for the issuance of not to exceed \$9,524,000.00 Sewer Revenue Subordinate Lien Bonds, Series 2023, of the Sangamon County Water Reclamation District, Sangamon County, Illinois, for the purpose of defraying certain costs in connection with operation and improvement of the sanitary sewer system of the District.

The Board was presented with the bond ordinance to adopt for the Sugar Creek CSO Headworks Project. Trustee John Hearn moved the ordinance be approved. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee Jim Reinhart and upon being put to a vote was unanimously approved. Those voting "aye" when their names were called being: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, Jim Reinhart, and John Hearn. Those voting "no" being: none. c. Annexation Ordinance No. 2023-11 (15 Idlewild Lane)

Trustee Terry Schierholz moved the annexation ordinance be approved. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee John Hearn and upon being put to a vote was unanimously approved. Those voting "ave" when their names were called being: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, Jim Reinhart, and John Hearn. Those voting "no" being: none.

4. **Trustee Reports – None**

5. **Director's Report**

The Director reported on the following:

1. The Sugar Creek UV project is considered complete and has entered the one-year warranty period.

2. We have received our SRF Loan Agreement from IEPA for the Sugar Creek CSO Headworks Project. The notice of award for the project will be issued and the project should start within the next month.

3. The District received an "A" bond rating with a change of stable from negative from Fitch Rating.

Attorney's Report .6.

Work is still progressing on the outstanding grievance and EEOC complaint regarding an employee termination.

7. **Adjourn Meeting**

There being no further business to come before the Board of Trustees, Trustee Jim Reinhart moved the meeting be adjourned. The motion was duly seconded by John Hearn and upon being put to a vote was unanimously approved. Those voting "aye" when their names were called being: Richard Ciotti, Terry Schierholz, Jim Reinhart, and John Hearn. Those voting "no" being: none.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:11 a.m.

Minutes approved,



Decennial Committee of Local Government Efficiency Sangamon County Water Reclamation District Held 9:00 a.m. June 27, 2023

Call to Order - Chairman Richard T. Ciotti

1. Roll Call - The following Committee Members were present:

Richard T. Ciotti, Gregg Humphrey, Jason Jacobs, Terry Schierholz, James Reinhart, Collins Pieper, John Hearn and Paul Ed Vehovic

The following Committee Members were excused:

Drinda Oconnor, John Higginbotham and Karen Hasara.

2. Introduction of Members

Members of the Committee were introduced.

3. Purpose of Committee

It was explained that the Committee is tasked to study local efficiencies and report recommendations regarding efficiencies and increased accountability to the county board in which the governmental unit is located. The duties of the committee include, but are not limited to, the study of the governmental unit's governing statutes, ordinances, rules, procedures, powers, jurisdiction, shared services, intergovernmental agreements, and interrelationships with other governmental units and the State.

4. Proposed Report Development

The committee shall summarize its work and findings within a written report, which shall include recommendations in respect to increased accountability and efficiency and shall provide the report to the county board in which the governmental unit is located no later than 18 months after the formation of the committee.

5. Proposed Timeline

It is anticipated the process involved will take approximately 4 to 6 months.

6. Public Comment Period

It was asked if anyone would like to address the committee. There were no responses.

7. Adjourn Meeting- The meeting was adjourned with the next meeting to be determined following preparation of the draft report.